How Grace comes from Housekeeping

I once found an old 1950s copy of a magazine which had amazing content touching different aspects of life and giving advice in the most elegant way.  The photos showed people who were graceful not so glossy and superficial. I’m sure lots of bloggers have seen or read a current copy of Good Housekeeping magazine, love it or hate it, there is a variety of topics to interest.

Now being the eldest I was an observer and learner in school and at home, there was no choice, in my family a girl child got the same privilege as a boy child and I was the eldest child of two eldest children.  So at home I observed pregnancies and both nice and terrifying family situations, (I mean illness/infant mortality) , discussion and advice sessions, learnt to tell stories, keep house and cook. Both my parents worked.  I had an Uncle whose hobby was photography and once a month when we visited, we had our photos taken for free and a collection built up.

There is Grace in Housekeeping, a reminder that there is really grace in good housekeeping, even though most people do get fed up with housekeeping.  My blog will add a little humour, salt, fire and spicy loveliness to everyone in their different situations.

Leave a Reply

