I rise out of the Desert

Desert

I am the date palm of an oasis,

I rise out of the desert,

From pools of fresh dew

Made when the cold of the night,

Hits the morning sunshine.

From hidden rivers running under my roots,

Which wet and nurture me.

I am growing beautiful and strong,

From a seed cast askance

By the Berbers passing by.

The ripples of sand tickle me,

The wind raises the skirts of my leaves

The sun intensifies its rays on me,

But coolness comes from the water and foliage around.

Now I am fruitful and golden enough

For more and more sun to ease out my sweetness.

Don’t underrate my brown wrinkled skin,

For nature has given a natural healthy gift

To grace many a table, be it part of

A treat or a balanced meal or a celebration.

I am from a beautiful eco-system.

Leave a Reply

