South of the River

South

Where I live means so much to me and I’m sure this way of thinking applies to other people too.  I’m sure you may have heard the saying, ‘An Englishman’s home is his castle’.   There are many homes in South London and there are some lovely people living in them too.

Can you understand my frustration, when I get the following reaction from a certain group, who on hearing of any place south of the river, utter a gasp, then, “Ooooh, so you live south of the river, I couldn’t”.  As if such a thing was wrong.

It’s not nice when people speak negatively about us, our home, our area or country.  No doubt such comments are associated with historical, financial, personal, transport and other factors.  It doesn’t matter if we live in the best place in the world, someone will have something to say about it .  Folks, just be strong and live your great and good life.

Leave a Reply

